Posted in Uncategorized

Morning habit

After 10 days of trying to figure out how to create a great website, I’ve decided to wait and save money for a professional’s touch. I started reading the WordPress for Dummies 5 in 1 book that is almost 3 inches thick last night when I went to bed. There is a way I might be able to create a decent-looking website – if that is all I want to get done. But I can’t spend all the time I have writing and learning to work on the site.

So, now that decision is made, a huge burden has lifted from my shoulders and I can do what I love to do – write! It is 5:21am and beginning today I plan to get up at the same time every morning to write. If I only write for 15 minutes a day, it’s more than what I’ve been doing over the past several months. And getting up every morning at the same time – spending that time writing – will turn into a habit. That is my goal!

Habits are a hard part of our psyche…whether they are good habits to improve ourselves or bad habits to break and improve ourselves…it takes commitment and discipline to form a good habit. In fact it takes 30 days of the same routine until it becomes a habit.

My mentor for this objective is my daughter. She has been getting up every morning for the last 8 years to work on her writing, editing, and managing. She works at home and commits to an 8 hour (or more) workday. She takes breaks, a lunch break, and then back to work. This same child, who was hard as heck to wake up on weekends made a commitment and stuck to it.

Although she is going through some “stuff” right now…you know the stuff life throws at you when you least expect it… she still maintains a schedule or routine for her life. She doesn’t know it or maybe she does, but she’s my inspiration for writing for the last 4 years.

When I went on disability, I needed an outlet other than watching TV, knitting, and cross stitching. So I went back to school online for my Associate’s Degree in Healthcare Management. It was great! I loved going back to school! But then instead of 1 subject per month it jumped to 4 subjects in 1 month. At first I felt this was necessary for me to complete the degree and worked my butt off to stay caught up. But then I became sick. My chronic back pain grew worse and I found myself resting more than studying.

I was one essay behind and the instructor gave me until the next week to catch up. Now that was generous of her, but now I had three essays to write in one week. The pressure got to me, I became sicker, and then quit. It really sucks too because I carried a 4.0 average for the 8 months I was in the program. When I spoke to one of the counselors at the school about my situation, she suggested I just write up essays to get back on track. “Don’t worry about whether they are good or not, just write them and you’ll be back where you should be.”

Needless to say, this startled and hurt me. I’m not the student who works “just to get by.” I put my heart and soul into my work and give every assignment my best. There was no way I could write a mediocre essay “just to catch up.” And deal with a chronic back pain issue to boot.

I quit. I hate it because it seems I quit things I start all the time – especially in my adult life. But there was no other option. It would take me forever to catch up and that would only add stress to my pain. Funny thing was nobody at this online school seemed concerned that a 4.0 student was quitting. Until a few months later when I received weekly emails asking me to return and complete the work toward my Associate’s Degree.

The other reason I could justify my quitting was I was turning 60 in a couple of months and by the time I finished the course, I would be 62. What company was going to hire a Healthcare Manager for a doctor’s office at the age of 62 – just 3 years before retirement? I just didn’t see it happening.

As soon as the decision was made, the burden left me and I could breathe again. And I began to write and read about writing and haven’t looked back. Well, that’s a lie, I look back many times…heck, I just looked back to tell you about my attempt to finally get my Associate’s Degree.

But you know what I mean. I don’t regret the decision and now I am doing something new and exciting! Along with this blog, I’ve got a book in the works…so if I’m not posting a blog, you’ll know I’m working on the book.

Well my time limit is up and I begin my next project as per my morning schedule. I hope you have a great day today and maybe something I’ve said will help you with a decision you are trying to make. Whatever the case, take care and blog you later!

 

Author:

After training for copywriting, I am currently blogging for a living! So far working with a company that outsources for other companies and I've become the "preferred writer" for two companies!!! I'm very excited about having my own blog site and look forward to adding interesting info for you!

2 thoughts on “Morning habit

  1. Hello there! I know this is somewhat off topic but
    I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this site?
    I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at options for
    another platform. I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

    Like

    1. Hi Indian Girl!

      I’m using wordpress and a free version of it. As far as the blog platform, I went through their free themes and chose my theme from that selection. I’m really new at blogging and sure about the platform. If you are having problems with hackers, you may want to close your account and reopen another one under another name and email address.

      I hope this helps and I apologize for not replying sooner.
      Carolyn

      Like

Leave a Reply

